News

Oscars 2020: When, Where and How to Watch It

February 8, 2020
4 min read

The most anticipated award ceremony comes at the tail end of the award season. Yes, we are talking about the Oscars. The 92nd Annual Academy Awards is around the corner, for what promises to be yet another memorable night in the history of the industry.

2019 has been one of the finest years for cinema, objectively speaking. With the likes of Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Greta Gerwig, and Bong Joon-ho making movies in the same year, the competition is bound to be fierce at the Oscars 2020. Naturally, you might be wondering about when, where, and how to watch the Oscars live. We have got you covered in that regard.

When Time Does Oscars 2020 Start?

Oscars 2020 will be broadcast live on Sunday, February 9, 2020, at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT. Notably, the red carpet proceedings start earlier, and will also be live-streamed. The coverage is slated to start from 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

Where to Watch Oscars 2020 Online?

We will break down this section into two parts. One part tells you where to watch the award ceremony itself, while the other part tells you where you can watch the red carpet proceedings.

For the award ceremony itself, if you are watching in the USA, you can catch it on ABC with a cable connection. If you don’t have one, you can watch the ceremony on the ABC site, or the ABC app. In case, you live outside the USA, the Academy has published a list of all the networks where you can catch it live. Check it out here.

Where to Watch Oscars 2020 Online For Free?

Since cord-cutters are on the rise, the Academy itself has provided the streaming options, if you want to watch it online. You can head to AT&T TV Now, Hulu, and YouTube TV. These streaming services all offer ABC, and some even have free trial periods, which means you can watch the Oscars for free if you cancel your subscription once the ceremony is over. Notably, if you opt for Hulu, you can watch it live on Hulu with Live TV. The ceremony itself will be available on the streaming platform on Monday, February 10, 2020.

Where to Watch Oscars 2020 Red Carpet Online?

If you want to tune in from the red carpet proceedings, the sites where you can stream the ceremony will also be covering the red carpet. Additionally, Oscars all Access streams the earlier red carpet proceedings on Twitter, which you can check out. E! will start covering the red carpet a little earlier, from 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT. They will get hosts, special guests, and experts to start ‘E! Countdown to the Red Carpet: Oscars 2020’. At 5:00 p.m. EST/2:00 p.m. PST, Ryan Seacrest and Giuliana Rancic will bring celebrity interviews and more, from the red carpet, during ‘E! Live From the Red Carpet’.

The Oscars, which take place at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, is going to take place without a host, for the second year in a row. This year sees ‘Joker‘ in the lead with 11 nominations, and Joaquin Phoenix has already been making waves in the award circuit, having won the BAFTA, Golden Globes, and SAG awards. It remains to be seen if he walks away with the Oscar as well.

Following ‘Joker’, are ‘The Irishman‘, ‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood‘, and ‘1917‘, with 10 nominations. Meanwhile ‘Parasite‘ has already made history by becoming the first South Korean film to receive an Academy Award nomination in any category. Netflix, once again, is showing its prowess, with 24 nominations, including two for best picture. However, after losing out in other award shows, the Oscar hopes, seem quite low for the streaming giant. Laura Dern might end up winning in the Best Supporting Actress for ‘Marriage Story‘. Stay tuned to follow our coverage of the Oscars, and in the meanwhile, check out our predictions here.

Read More: Oscar 2020 Predictions

SPONSORED LINKS